the fucked up way i've been coding
(also what the hell even is file management)

posted: 3 apr 2024

Welcome to the hell of my own making, and the longest title to a log I've done to date.

Ironic, considering this is going to be the shortest to date, also.

I have been doing a lot of my coding lately at work - there's perks. Double monitor, larger monitors, the ability to have my six million search tabs open as I try to fix an issue I created for myself by hodgepodging my code together. For all the perks, it also means I'm coding away from my main hub and unable to use brackets.io the way I usually do. So, to be bluntly honest about how my methods of making never are the most efficient, here's my process:

  • snatch code from some other page on my site via the neocities editor
  • put that code into a w3schools "try it yourself" box which is 100% not how that service is meant to be used
  • upload files into my neocities (images, fonts, etc. whatever I'm using that's "new")
    • I do prefer editing my images at work
    • idk what black magic is in Microsoft Paint but it is the best image down-sizer I've ever used
    • I do not have a better alternative on my personal mac
    • this devastates me and is 70% of the reason why I do webmaster at work
  • go through the painstaking process of adding the full link for images so I can see them
  • tweak ad infinitum
    • so much staring at css
    • so much confusion about javascript
    • so much waffling between if I want every page to have custom css or if I want cohesion
    • recently I've settled on being consistently inconsistent, as always
    • plus, it's more fun if everything is different all of the time, right?
      • right?
  • this is the creative process, I remind myself, I enjoy it
  • if I'm working on something over the course of a few days it gets even worse
  • I save my WIP code by placing it into my notion in a code block
    • this is not fool-proof and I should not be doing it
    • I should be coding at home and not at work to begin with
    • but how else can I kill time?
  • repeating the copy-to-w3 step from the beginning every day I'm working on it
  • post to neocities by copying and pasting from w3 into the neo editor
  • shorten all the links to remove the extra root I had to add earlier
  • in the process of this I've artifically inflated my hits because w3 is reloading my elements every time
  • but at least I am making something

Another unfortunate side-effect of this process is that I am truly terrified of what's going to happen if I ever have to do an overhaul of my site. I'm trying to plan for the future and keep folders nested in a way that makes sense without generating clutter but dear god. Feels like staring into the abyss for real. I want to learn how other people do it, but also if the system is working, don't try to fix it?

Anyway, here's a visual reminder for myself:

LEARN FILE MANAGEMENT OR PERISH

back

credits:

background image provided via unsplash by lazycreekimages, processed through dithermark with brass palette.

pngs provided via pnggallery, with this being the mouse and this being the hand, also processed through dithermark.