a few days with the cybershot (WIP!!!)

posted: 17 apr 2024

When I moved for my graduate program, I gently nicked my family’s old point-and-shoot digicam: a Sony Cybershot DSC-W370. There were images left over on here from around 15 years ago, and it hasn’t really been touched since! But I like the idea of having a designated photo-taking device, since I often forget when I’m on my phone. And the Cybershot is smaller than my phone!! I can easily fit both in my coat pocket without issue.

It’s been really fun, walking around and asking myself what is interesting enough to photograph. Though I’ll also admit, “interest” is in the eye of the photographer, so some of these are incredibly mundane and boring.

And here is couple of galleries! Click to see image captions and for a slide-show style view.

day 1: 4 apr 2024

When I first started taking photos, I kept everything on auto, but I’ve been playing around with exposure and white balance settings because I wanted a very specific Feel with as little editing as possible. As a great example, most photos I take on my phone are eventually processed through the Huji app in order to give the images that color boost and a bit of grittiness that I like.

I've taken to using the "cloudy" setting to get some artificial warmth to the images, but I'm keen to keep experimenting and see what I land on tomorrow!

day 2: 5 apr 2024

Main modes were that 'cloudy' one I mentoned, and also turning down the brightness by one notch - but I feel like it made some of these photos feel flatter than I wanted so... Still figuring out what I like with this camera!

day 3: 6 apr 2024

My obsession with light and shadow is showing on this day - a small collection because I didn't really go anywhere.

day 4: 10 apr 2024

Been really enjoying capturing the mundane, with intention! I stopped messing with the lighting effects for these pictures and I feel like they're more true-to-life because of it.

day 4: 11 apr 2024

Busy day, but took photos of the sky as I am always wont to do.

day 5: 16 apr 2024

To be added!