Eternal Return (2017) by Fim­bria

discovered: 17 apr 2024

I've got a cool habit of finding musicians that are just... incredibly niche on spotify. Like, what do you mean that Fimbria only has 21 monthly listeners (at the time of writing)? And how the fuck did I find this beautiful album if that's the case?? Life works in mysterious ways.

I'd stumbled across "Auriga" from this album and subsequently went to listen to the whole project and it is wonderfully atmospheric and electronic. This is the kind of album I can listen to in the background as I work on almost anything, the sweeping sounds are calming while also evocative of a futuristic setting. It feels like the soundtrack to a scifi fantasy movie that doesn't exist.

I love the whole album, but if you made me pick a top 3, it's "Auriga," "Event Surface," and "Passage," though I do love the titular "Eternal Return" as well. Brian Castriota's voice has a very soothing tone to it and lends to the ethereal feeling that Eternal Return is trying to convey. Wait, there are some sounds in "Triforium" that hit so hard that my hands curl into claws when I hear it. Shit, I don't think it's really possible for me to pick favorites when the whole album is such a cohesive experience. It's easily nestled itself among the other albums I tend to put on repeat.

Good music to stare at the ceiling and contemplate one's life to. Or as the backdrop for a late night drive. Or, as is typically my case, intense bouts of maladaptive daydreaming.

Electronic music and synthesizers, you never let me down.

2024 media log | music

image credits

album art comes from bandcamp, processed through dithermark. background is by casey horner via Unsplash, also processed through dithermark.